Author Interview! 

Today I had the honor to interview one of my favorite authors, Meaghan Rauscher! If you haven’t read her books, Droplets and Ripples, then I encourage you to do so. Like now! So let’s start by you telling us about yourself!

Meaghan: Hi there! My name’s Meaghan and I’m 24 years old, currently living in Georgia, and I’m the debut author of the Droplets Trilogy. I come from a big family, one of seven kids, and I love all things writing and reading. I graduated from the University of Georgia in the Spring of 2014 and then spent 6 months down in Orlando working at Disney World!


Me: When and why did you begin writing?

Meaghan: This is a tough question and one I have been asked often, but I think it all really started when I was a little kid and realized I enjoyed telling stories. My sisters and I would play with dolls and I would make up story lines, and loved it! Then as I grew older and got involved in club swimming, I would spend eight practices a week in the water. During that time, my mind would sometimes wander and I would develop some story lines in my head. Honestly, a lot of the plot line for Droplets was developed while I was swimming.


Me: Which writers inspire you?

Meaghan: J.K. Rowling, Diana Gabaldon, Francine Rivers and Kiera Cass, to name a few. Rowling and Gabaldon are such fantastic writers because they are able to take a reader into a different world which feels so real you forget about everything else around you. I don’t think I have ever been as more enveloped in a book than I was with Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, I lived, died and breathed with that one. As for Rivers and Cass, I love how they make the reader connect with the characters. River’s Redeeming Love was one of the most heartwarming and moving books I have ever read. I hope I can someday write a romance with such immense feeling.


Me: Who is your favorite character from your books and why?

Meaghan: Wow! Tough question. Surprisingly it isn’t Lissie. While I really enjoy the way she thinks and cares for people, not to mention the development she goes through, I think I would have to say Patrick is my favorite character because of how genuine he is. There is a key aspect to his character that is really magnetizing and I think it’s enhanced in Ripples (without giving away anything, I will just leave it there). However, one character in particular has made himself known and that’s Elik. I didn’t expect for him to be a very big character and his role keeps getting larger. There’s something about him that’s charismatic and I enjoy all the scenes I write when he is involved in the action.

 

Me: What inspired you to write your first book?

Meaghan: Honestly? The main idea came to me when my younger siblings were watching The Little Mermaid in the other room. For some reason my mind started churning, wondering what it would be like if a girl was forced to become a mermaid and didn’t want to be one. From there, everything seemed to fall into place.


Me: What was the hardest thing about writing your first book?

Meaghan: I struggled with how and where to end it. Droplets was originally a much shorter story and the climax wasn’t nearly as complex as it turned out to be. Reworking the entire manuscript to develop the rising plot was difficult.


Me: Which actor/actress would you like to see playing the lead characters from your books?

Meaghan: I have had this question a lot and to be honest I still haven’t figured out who would be right for the part. However, if I had to say someone, I would think Anna Sophia Robb would be excellent at playing Lissie. Patrick is a bit harder. Someone along the lines of Alex Pettyfer or Liam Hemsworth might fit his role though.


Me: Do you proofread/edit all your books or do you get someone to do that for you?

Meaghan: Normally what happens is I sit down and write the book from beginning to end. After it’s completed I step away for about a week or two and then get it printed and start to make edits myself. Mainly the first edit is for content and continuity. Then after those changes have been made I go through it again, brainstorming as I go, cutting out parts or adding in any other scenes as needed. Finally, I get to the third edit for grammar. After this, I send it off to a go friend of mine to get her opinion and her expertise on grammar, while also having family take a look and make changes.


Me: Can you tell us about your publishing journey?

Meaghan: My journey took quite a while but I believe it was essential to making Droplets the book it is. I tried my hand at querying for about a year while I began to work on the second book in the series. Some responses got me through a little farther than the initial weeding out of books, but in the end the only answer I got was “No”. So it took a little bit of courage, but I decided to self-publish and did so in December of 2013. After a year’s worth of selling some copies, I really decided to buckle down and make the most of what I had written and purchased a new cover and revamped the interior. This was probably one of the best decisions I have made. My sales have tripled in the last four months as a result!


Me: Do you have any advice for young writers?

Meaghan: Write what you want to write, not what you think publishers will want. There’s nothing fun about writing something for the purpose of someone else, do it for you and see who will come along for the journey. I wrote a book about mermaids because I’ve always loved the water. If you write the story you ant to read, people will join you in reading it!

Now for some more silly questions. 🙂


Me: If you could have any super power what would it be?

Meaghan: I think I would have to say flying! And I’m not talking about gliding in the air, I mean diving and twirling and flipping through sky! Roller coasters are some of my favorite things and I would love to be able to fly, not mention I can’t fly in my dreams so it would be a nice change.

Me: What is your favorite ice cream flavor?

Meaghan: Chocolate Moose Tracks. It used to be just plain chocolate, but I like to add in the Moose Tracks now because it has even more chocolate. And who wouldn’t love that?


Me: What is your all time favorite movie?

Meaghan: This is one of the hardest questions I’ve ever had to answer! But I think I have to go with Disney’s Beauty and the Beast. No matter when that movie is on, I sit down to watch it. However, Pride and Prejudice and Pirates of the Caribbean are up there too.


Me: Favorite song?

Meaghan: Shut up and Dance by Walk the Moon (Yes, I am the person who has watched the Youtube move montage to that song at least fifty times).


Me: Favorite book?

Meaghan: Can I pick them all? No, just one? Okay then, I have to say Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. There’s never been a book which got me more excited and scared than that culmination of the whole series. It’s one I could read over and over again, and have in the past. I think I need to travel to Hogwarts sometimes soon again!


Me: Thanks so much for doing this interview! It was an honor 🙂 

Meaghan: Thanks so much Gracey! I had so much fun answering your questions!!

Buy Droplets here!

You can keep up with Meaghan at her accounts listed below.

website:
http://discoverexplore.wix.com/meaghanrauscher

Instagram Accounts:

@meaghanrauscher 

@dropletstrilogy


Facebook:

Facebook.com/droplets

Leave a Reply

