On This Foundation by Lynn Austin

For some reason the bold & italics aren’t working… So sorry loves :/ 

  
My rating: 4/5 Stars 

Description: 
The Powerful Concluding Novel

to The Restoration Chronicles
When news that the wall of Jerusalem is broken down, and its gates have been burned with fire, Nehemiah, Jewish cupbearer to King Artaxerxes in Persia, seeks God’s guidance. After fasting and prayer, he’s given leave to travel to Jerusalem and rebuild the city wall, not anticipating all the dangers that await him on his arrival.
The leaders of the surrounding nations become his fierce enemies, plotting to assassinate him and halt the work. A drought, meanwhile, has left the country impoverished, many families resorting to selling their children as bondservants just to keep from starving.
Capturing the rebuilding of the wall through the eyes of a number of characters, On This Foundation is a powerful exploration of faith in the midst of oppression, and hope that, in spite of appearances, the gracious hand of God is upon those who believe.

My review: 

This was a very, very good & interesting read. The author is a very skilled writer & I found it a true account according to history & most importantly the Bible. I was nervous about starting it, because the size of the book kind of intimidated me (I know, lame lol. But I could feel a reading slump coming on!) Thankfully, this book helped to pull me right back into reading again! The characters were so well developed! Even though I have already read the story of Nemimiah, this novel was just so captivating & kept me entertained the whole time. I recommend anyone whole loves a good biblical story or a novel on history to read this incredible book! 

I was sent this book by the publisher in exchange for my honest review. 🙂

Leave a Reply

